The Candy Witch by Steven Kroll

I think I was in the second grade when I first read this book. I was excited to see it at my local library and so of course I had to read it. I loved the story of the little witch who is feeling neglected (something I could relate to as a child and what child doesn’t?) and so she stirs up some Halloween trouble by taking all the Halloween candy among other things in order to get some attention. I enjoyed re-reading this book as an adult. It’s a fun read and my four year old likes it. It was a good opportunity to talk about communication and what to do and particularly what not to do when you need a little bit of love. Pictures are okay, pretty typical for a book from this time period the 70s. My favorite then and now is pictures of all the yummy in the town square including the chocolate fountain. Yum!!!

Happy Reading!

Cari

Leave a Reply

